Summer System

Barbie lunchbox, Clothing by Natalie Ebaugh, Pineapple Pitcher, Christopher Kane skirt, King Tuff King Tuff, De La Soul De La Soul is Dead, Liz Phair Exile in Guyville, globe hat, ebay birkenstocks

I’ve spent my whole life in Arizona, but I still haven’t figured out a way to completely survive the summer. Every year during March when I have to start driving with my windows down I panic and try to convince myself that this summer is going to be fun and bearable rather than a five month punishment. It hasn’t really worked yet, but I always try to come up with a system for making it through sane and this collage is my map for trying to get through this summer.

  • The sun makes it so hard to see anything that you might as well wear your brightest colors, and I think that Barbie lunchbox with the glaring palm trees, and the globe hat are perfect examples of how I want to look every day.
  • It’s helpful to drink a fruity drink most of the time, my favorite is classic lemonade which I would preferably be drinking out of a pineapple shaped pitcher.
  • I know that a lot of people see birkenstocks as nerdy hippie shoes, but I they are actually alright. The grad student who taught my 3D design class made amazing things out of wood and looked really cool all of the time, AND she wore birkenstocks. I also have giant feet, even though I’m not tall, and because birks are so wide they really emphasize the cartoonish quality of my feet, which I find refreshing.
  • The most important part of getting through summer is which songs you’re going to listen to in your car while you drive around in your portable oven. When I bought Exile in Guyville the other day I thought the guy at the record store was going to judge me for it, but he actually said that it was great, and that he drives around listening to it so much it would probably melt in his car. This means that I am paranoid, but it also means that it’s a contender for Car CD of Summer 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

