All I Have to Do is Dream

Christian Joy in her studio

I don’t know what my dream job is called, but I know someone has already invented it. Christian Joy is an artist and costume designer for several music acts, most famously Karen O of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Her creations range from pieces shown in galleries to pieces of clothing meant to be worn by anyone.

In an ideal world I would have a job making wearable pieces to sell in a studio space of my own. I like that there is flexibility; you can screen print 100 shirts with the same design, or hand embroider a one of a kind dress. The idea of making art that serves another purpose and that people would be able to wear and use appeals to me. I think I would enjoy the challenge of creating clothing from a printmaking perspective rather than that of fashion design or fibers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

